

AGM MINUTES NCVO, London

Thursday 20th June 2013

11:00 am

Present:

Hugh Barr (HB) President, Elizabeth Howkins (EH) Chair, Richard Gray (RG) Chair Elect, Helena Low (HL) Vice Chair, Angus McFadyen (AKM), Jenny Ford (JFo), Sarah Hean (SH), Margaret Sills (MS), Patricia Bluteau (PB), Marion Helme (MH), Debbie Holmes (DH), Ann Jackson (AJ), Sundari Joseph (SJ), Richard Pitt (RP), Mike Carmi (MC), Linsey Duncan-Pitt (LDP), Jayne Frisby (JFr), Frances Gordon (FG), Victoria Greenhalgh (VG), Susan Lindqvist (SL), Melissa Owens (MO), Clare Scott (CS), James Selby (JS), Charankumal Singh Thandi (CST), Ali Yidrim (AY), Colin Butchers (CB), Ellen Tabil (ET), Coral Drane (CD), Samantha Madenyika (SM), Susan Brock (SB), Elizabeth Underhill (EU), Rozz McDonald (RM), Liz Anderson HEA (LA), Liz Anderson University of Leicester (LAn), Emma Beal (EB)

Apologies: Ann Ewens, Liz Westcott, Jan Furlong, Lynn Clouder, Sarah Temple-Smith

1. WELCOME

HB opened the meeting by welcoming all the members who have travelled to the AGM. He praised the work that CAIPE had done over the past year and thanked everyone for attending.

HB thanked EH for her service to CAIPE as the Chair for the past 4 years and congratulated her on a successful time in charge. He praised the hard work she had put in to put CAIPE in a strong position both administratively and in the general medical education sector.

2. CHAIR'S REVIEW

EH gave a review of the year from April 2012 – March 2013.

EH reported that the new look website was launched during the year. She thanked DH for the enormous amount of work she had put in to produce an excellent website and to also link us to Facebook and Twitter. She also thanked DH for her work on the e-bulletin which was now working well and proving to be successful.

Membership figures were announced. Corporate and Individual member totals were down on the previous year but Student member numbers had risen considerably. She

said that it has proven difficult to get some members to renew their membership and that EB was still working on getting members registered for this year.

New Corporate Members from Huddersfield, Cardiff and Saitama University in Japan were welcomed this year.

EH praised the work of the student network with JF and RP at the helm. She thanked the student representatives who had put in a great deal of effort to help support the student conference and the web pages.

EH told the meeting that CAIPE had made an arrangement with the RSM to develop The Annual John Horder Award. It will be a cash prize presented to the team who demonstrate outstanding collaborative practice in the community.

EH reported various activities that have taken place throughout the year including the Corporate Forums, Chair's Event and Student Conference. All events have been successful and well supported by our members.

EH thanked DH and EB for their work behind the scenes.

Board member elections took place in May and June. This resulted in two new members Pat Bluteau and Catherine O'Halloran who were welcomed to the board. Jenny Ford and Liz Westcott were welcomed for a second term of office.

Departing member Doug Rae was thanked for his work for CAIPE as a board member.

EH closed her review by welcoming RG as the new Chair of CAIPE. She thanked everyone for their support during her term of office and wish RG well in his new post. She said that she felt she was leaving CAIPE in very safe hands.

3. THE AGM

3.1 Apologies for Absence.

Apologies were received from Ann Ewens, Lynne Clouder, Jan Furlong and Liz Westcott.

3.2 Minutes of the AGM held on 21st June 2012

The minutes of the previous AGM were accepted as a true and accurate record of the event.

Proposed: Richard Pitt Seconded: Angus McFadyen

3.3 Matters Arising

There were no matters arising to report.

3.4 Board Elections

EH reported that a board election had taken place for four new board members. She announced that Pat Bluteau, Catherine O'Halloran, Jenny Ford and Liz Westcott had all been voted onto the board for the following year.

3.5 Annual Report and Accounts

EH said that Sarah Temple-Smith of Temple-Smith Accountants is now the CAIPE accountant. She thanked Sarah for her hard work in producing the accounts for the annual report.

EH presented the Financial Report prepared by Sarah Temple Smith. Referring to pages 11 to 17 copied to all attendees. She summarised the financial position of CAIPE, which remains healthy. The year 2012 to 2013 showed a surplus of £7.7K and reserves of £49.5. The profit is gradually being used to enhance member's activities. A drop in membership was expected in light of the economic downturn. She explained that a £10k reserve is maintained as part of the risk strategy. MS asked if this should be shown on the accounts sheet and EH agreed to mention this to the accountant and show in separate account next year.

MS asked why there was no Gift Aid recorded. EB said that this is in hand and will be sorted in the very near future.

ACTION: EB

The accounts were accepted.

Proposed: Helena Low

Seconded: Angus McFadyen

3.6 Welcome to the new Chair

EH thanked the CAIPE board and all the CAIPE members for their support during her 3 years as CAIPE Chair. She welcomed Richard Gray the newly elected Chair of CAIPE.

RG thanked EH for the welcome and for her support over the last 3 years. He outlined his vision to take CAIPE forward. He said he planned to focus on promoting and widening membership, to celebrate successes in IPE, to effectively respond to changes in health and social care, to promote widely IPE and collaborative practice and to continue to develop international networking.

3.6 Any Other Business.

There was no other business to discuss. The AGM was closed at 12.10 pm.

4. CLOSING REMARKS

RG thanked Dr Anna van de Gaag for her presentation 'The Regulatory Perspective on Service User Involvement in Education' and Carole Pound and Basia Grzybowska on their presentation 'It's Good To Talk: Involving Service Users With Aphasia in Training and Research'. Both presentations were warmly welcomed and enjoyed by all present.

RG officially closed the AGM at 15.40 pm.